Going Home

Yesterday I made the trip to Maryland via Heathrow starting at 5:30 in the morning. Seán and I were already up because we were on the sleep schedule from hell, so we packed up my suitcase and headed to Glasgow airport.

IMG_8463

The airport was very sleepy in the morning, not many people passing through security, so it only took me a moment. That left me with an hour and a half to kill before my flight, so I got breakfast and then had myself a little dance party to Over and Done With by the Proclaimers.

IMG_8462

The flight to Heathrow was uneventful, I slept through most of it because by that point I was exhausted. Heathrow is one of the biggest airports in the world, the terminal I was in almost dwarfing the entirety of BWI.

IMG_8467

IMG_8468

I was flagging after a few hours, though, so I bribed myself to stay awake by wandering around the shops and eventually picking up a black and red sparkly nail polish by OPI from the Duty Free shops.

IMG_8478

Still, I somehow managed to stay awake enough to get on my plane. Once on it, though, I was out like a light for a few hours, only waking up when we were served a late afternoon lunch.

IMG_8485

IMG_8494

IMG_8505

By the time we were taxi-ing on the runway I was chomping at the bit to get home. Equal parts restless and exhausted, I jumped off the plane and was one of the first through customs. After collecting my bag I passed through security only to be stopped because I had alcohol in my bag (a bottle of whisky for my older brother.) Oddly, the security guard stopped me, took my passport and said “You aren’t twenty-one. You can’t have alcohol.” and then proceeded to put the bottle back in my bag and give it to me. Alright cool, I guess I can.

Once I met my dad at the airport, though, everything was fine. We went straight home for dinner (beef stew- my request) and I distributed gifts to all my family.

It is so good to be home.

Post Signature

About Mary Rose

A student blogger with a passion for travel, tea, and the art world. I’m also a published short fiction and poetry writer, an amateur photographer, and a burgeoning wine snob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

