Thirty Things I’m Thankful For

Lately it’s been hard to be thankful for small things in the face of larger political unrest back home. My brother is marching on city hall to protest the wrongful murder of Michael Brown, and I’m sitting here thinking “Gosh, aren’t flowers nice.” So, please forgive the lateness of this post. Here are some things I’m thankful for:

  1. The amazingly supportive, thoughtful people that I’m blessed to call my friends and family. I don’t know what I would do without you all.
  2. Particularly my parents, whose support of me has never faltered.
  3. Comfortable hoodies, preferably borrowed off a close friend.
  4. All six schools I’ve attended between kindergarten and now, and to the next.
  5. Warm mugs of tea on cold days.
  6. The intellectuals that, for better and worse, have devoted their lives trying to parse history so that we can develop a closer bond with our history.
  7. Any and all animals that eat mosquitoes.
  8. Relative health, or at least no issues that an ibuprofen and a nap can’t usually fix.
  9. Roses, lavender, lilies, and other nice smelling things.
  10. Forehead kisses and hand holding and other small signs of affection.
  11. Cosmetics, hair dye, cool clothes, and other tools that have helped me form a visual identity of my own.
  12. The changing of the seasons.
  13. The internet, and all the ways in which it connects me to people all over the world and makes things like this study abroad adventure possible.
  14. Central heating and air conditioning. God bless.
  15. Cats, pugs, rabbits, and other small and fluffy cuddly animals.
  16. Upper level history education, which has primarily consisted of telling me all the ways that I was lied to by my K-12 history teachers.
  17. Modern farming that makes having summer vegetables in winter possible.
  18. Cameras, and other ways of documenting truth when if, like me, you have the relative artistic ability of a gnat.
  19. Trans-Atlantic flights, and not having to take the boat over like one of my forefathers.
  20. Libraries, museums, and archives, for hosting and protecting our cultural heritage and fostering the exchange of ideas across generations.
  21. Whoever designed the Met’s website. Seriously, thank you.
  22. Modern pharmaceuticals and medical practice.
  23. Quiet library spaces.
  24. Selfie culture and the celebration of self-love, particularly by young women who so rarely have it.
  25. Street performers and buskers.
  26. Every fantasy author, but particularly those who write about dragons.
  27. Relative financial stability.
  28. Friends who will laugh with you and cry with you, and sometimes laugh until they cry. Special thanks to the BGC. You know who you are.
  29. Healthy relationships.
  30. Dedicated protesters who risk life and limb to protect their communities in the face of oppression.

Post Signature

About Mary Rose

A student blogger with a passion for travel, tea, and the art world. I’m also a published short fiction and poetry writer, an amateur photographer, and a burgeoning wine snob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thirty Things I’m Thankful For

  1. Lovely list. I’m also a fan of roses & lavender, but I’ll swap your lilies for rosemary and honeysuckle :)

    Oh, and central heating & antibiotics are the greatest inventions ever!

    You’ve probably already read them, but have you tried Naomi Novik’s Temeraire novels? A wonderfully quaint world of dragons.

Leave a Reply

