1/10 -Snapshots

Today I had two social obligations: my first seminar for Patriarchy, Sex, and Gender in Early Modern Europe and the first meeting for the Art Appreciation Society that I’d considered joining. Once I’d roused myself at around 11am and finally detached myself from Crusader Kings II at 1:30pm I left Seán’s place and went back to my dorm for the 3pm class.

Anyway, here are a few things I saw along the way:

3
4
1
5
I thought I’d be late, considering the time it takes me to talk between Seán’s and my dorm and between my dorm and my classes, but I was pleasantly a few minutes early. In the class we divided up presentation topics (I’ll be discussing the history and “crisis” of masculinity) and then got on to talk about whether or not we think “patriarchy” as a concept is useful for historians. It was a good discussion and I really liked it, so hopefully that bodes well for the rest of the class.

Since I was already on campus and didn’t want to walk back to my dorm being as I only had two hours until the art appreciation society meeting, I stopped in the computer lab in the same building as my classes and did a bit of studying. I’ve been working on my presentation for my class on Renaissance Florence (which I wrote about here) and catching up on Duolingo, which gave me this gem of a translation:

I hope I never have to use this translation in the real world....

I hope I never have to use this translation in the real world….

Then I left for the society meeting, and on the way I saw the cutest fluffy cat sitting near a parked car. Aww.
7

And got to see some of the lovely afternoon sun through the autumnal leaves.
2

The meeting went over fine, there was just talking about the events planned for this semester and a sign up for the mailing list. There was also a social afterwards at a local pub, but I skipped it because I had a pounding headache by that time. That didn’t stop me from thinking the main University building is absolutely gorgeous in the evening:
6

I also saw this sign for another org which made me laugh:
IMG_7022

In my headache induced haze I stopped to get milk at a Tesco and promptly cracked up at this sign:

"To brie, or not to brie, that is the question."

“To brie, or not to brie, that is the question.”

And, lastly, on the way back I passed a lovely building that is sadly mostly hidden behind a high stone wall. I’d love to see the rest of it.
8

Tomorrow: my seminar for Folk Belief and Witch Hunts, which should be enjoyable. Now, though, sleep.
Post Signature

About Mary Rose

A student blogger with a passion for travel, tea, and the art world. I’m also a published short fiction and poetry writer, an amateur photographer, and a burgeoning wine snob.
This entry was posted in daily blog and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

