24/09 – First Day of Classes

Can you believe it has been a month since I got here and I’m only just starting classes? I still find it hard to believe, since my Mount Holyoke friends started classes aaaages ago and I’ve been missing my darling academics. If you’d like a peek at my schedule to see what I’m taking, I’ve posted that here. Today, since it’s Wednesday, was my lecture for my Patriarchy, Sex, and Gender in Early Modern Europe class.

I woke up pretty early because I figure it’s better to be several hours early than late, lost, and confused. For breakfast I made my favorite scrambled egg recipe with added veggies and cheese served on toast:

Scrambled eggs with: tomato, mozzarella, spinach.

Scrambled eggs with: tomato, mozzarella, spinach.

Then I was on my way for the one-mile walk to my classes:

In denial?

In denial?

IMG_6863

Once there I sat down in the student common room with my iPod and a sudoku puzzle to pass the time.

I've solved puzzles in the Very Hard section faster than I've solved these.

I’ve solved puzzles in the Very Hard section faster than I’ve solved these.

Class was great. We started with a one-hour lecture on the basics of the course, including how we will be graded (side note: did you know that the exam for this course is in May? Even though the course ends in December? Scotland = Weird) and then we had a one hour break. I went to the computer lab and decided, being the studious person I now feel I am, to catch up on the French I’ve been neglecting for…longer than I care to admit.

This would be much more impressive if I hadn't taken this screenshot after midnight. No, I haven't studied French yet for today. Yes, I will.

This would be much more impressive if I hadn’t taken this screenshot after midnight. No, I haven’t studied French yet for today. Yes, I will.

Also, may I complain a moment about having to get used to a UK keyboard? Trying to type an e-mail address is taking some getting used to:

Where is the '@' symbol? Not where it should be!

Where is the ‘@’ symbol? Not where it should be!

After the break we started a lecture on the differences between Genderless History, Women’s History, and Gender History. I liked it quite a bit, it was interesting and gave me a lot to think about for the first seminar next week.

We also studied the illustration I posted in this post, which made for some fairly interesting notes:

IMG_6866
Then I walked back to my dorm, taking in the sights along the way:
IMG_6881 IMG_6884 IMG_6890

Lovely.

Lovely.

IMG_6893

Leftover campaigns for the referendum.

IMG_6895

A very Scottish slogan.

Just as I was passing the park I realized it was still fairly light out and that I’d be silly not to take in a nice day like today, especially since I’m pretty sure the walk between my dorm and my classes will be more of a pain in the winter:

IMG_6896

Signs of fall.

IMG_6907

The book I’m currently reading, which is excellent.

IMG_6921

I don’t know if you can see but along with the gull on the fallen tree there is some type of larger heron bird on the far bank. Weird.

IMG_6904 IMG_6905 IMG_6912 IMG_6922

So, that was it for the day. Once back at my dorm I worked on my readings for next lecture and read a bit more of my book. Tomorrow, more lectures. Tonight, sleep.

Post Signature

About Mary Rose

A student blogger with a passion for travel, tea, and the art world. I’m also a published short fiction and poetry writer, an amateur photographer, and a burgeoning wine snob.
This entry was posted in daily blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

