13/09 Continued – Glasgow Necropolis

After poking around Glasgow Cathedral, Seán and I went on to visit Glasgow Necropolis, an amazing 19th Century cemetery. I’ve been a big fan of cemeteries for a long time, since they’re an amazing historical resource, a nice place for a picnic, and often extremely lovely. Opened in 1832, Glasgow Necropolis spans 37 acres and contains about 50,000 “inhabitants.” We went on a chilly but mercifully dry day and it was just that perfect time slot between summer and fall when some leaves have fallen and create a satisfyingly crunchy carpeting on the paths but the rest of the foliage was lush and green. Perfect.

Obviously I didn’t get to explore the entire cemetery in one day, but what I did manage to see kept me completely fascinated. It’s a lovely cemetery, and I’d love to go back. But before I get too far ahead of myself (or delay this post another day) here are some of the things I saw:

The main entrance to the cemetery is over a lovely bridge behind Glasgow Cathedral.

53

Here are some views of the main hillside:

4 55 2 1

Following up the main path you get to see a bunch of pretty graves:

3

I’ve seen this type of fence several times now in Glasgow and I and adore it every time.

6 8 52

Seán was surprised at the number of neo-classical graves that populated the cemetery, although I think it’s understandable given the continuing effects of Scotland’s enlightenment on the people that were buried here. Besides, some people just like those Grecian elements. They’re wrong, obviously, but they do.

32 15 14 13 12 11 9 10

Several of the graves in this cemetery were right up my ally, sporting elegant Gothic motifs and shapes. One of the things I want to study, perhaps for my thesis but definitely in the future, includes Victorian neo-Gothic revival, and I think I’ll be referencing these:

51 47 43 35 34 7 5

As you might have noticed, several of these graves are quite worn and broken. There were quite a few graves that needed repair, which makes me quite sad:

50 26

This one has incredible weathering.

This one has incredible weathering.

20 19 18

Going up the top you can really tell that the graves aren’t laid out in any kind of grid, which makes for a lot of open spaces:

28 27 31 33 30 36

Sean takes a break from walking to practice posing for his future modeling career.

Sean takes a break from walking to practice posing for his future modeling career.

22 25 21 17 52

Then we reached the top, and by that time it was quite chilly. After walking around a bit we hunkered down and did some sudoku to pass the time. I had wanted a sunset shot, but the clouds closed in and I never got it. Another time.

49

The inscription on the sculpture read “Not my will, but thine, be done.”

44 45 46 40 41 37 38 39

However, we couldn’t stay for too long as it was getting dark and quite chilly, so we left after a few hours.

54

Until next time, Glasgow Necropolis!

Post Signature

About Mary Rose

A student blogger with a passion for travel, tea, and the art world. I’m also a published short fiction and poetry writer, an amateur photographer, and a burgeoning wine snob.
This entry was posted in daily blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

