07/09 – Moved in!

Over the course of the past two days I’ve more officially moved into my dorm, since I had been staying with Sean for the past week or so. I had planned to move in properly yesterday, but I didn’t have the cookware I needed until today. But today I’m here! 

IMG_6131

IMG_6117

 

IMG_6122

Then we went down to Tesco for groceries, and stopped on a footpath across a pretty river.

 

IMG_6119 IMG_6120 IMG_6121

We even saw this little cat walking along the path, and another later on. Presumably they’re kept well fed by students.

IMG_6130

When I got in I pretty much just dumped everything and then went to spend another night with Seán.

IMG_6135

Elegance personified.

Elegance personified.

But now I’m unpacked, so here’s what my room looks like now:

 

IMG_6139

IMG_6136

 

I’m keeping my food in the top of my closet just because seeing it out on my shelves was starting to make me hungry. Did you know that the British don’t refrigerate their eggs? Well, I had mine out for about a day before deciding that it was freaking me out and sticking them in the fridge. Guess I am a big yankee after all. 

IMG_6137

IMG_6138

IMG_6140

 

I didn’t bring as many decorations as I did last year (not to mention my dorm at Mount Holyoke) so it does look really barren. Hopefully I’ll be able to pick up some postcards or something to brighten the space up a bit. One of my only desk decorations is a framed photograph that Seàn’s mother took of us at Loch Lomond. It’s deceptively romantic, considering I think we were talking about Crusader Kings II or Dark Souls at the time.

One of my only desk decorations is a framed photograph that Seàn's mother took of us at Loch Lomond. It's deceptively romantic, considering I think we were talking about Crusader Kings II at the time.

“Get good, motherfucker.”

Well, after running out to go make some tea I’ve now met one of the five people in my suite, but that interaction ended with an awkward fist bump because both of us had wet hands. Oops. I think it’s time for me to go to bed.

Tomorrow the plan is to wake up at 7 and go get paperwork done (visa confirmation by the University and then picking up my student ID card) and then take some photos around campus. There’s a 0 percent chance of rain, oddly, so it sounds like a perfect day to get started.  

I’ll update again soon!

Post Signature

About Mary Rose

A student blogger with a passion for travel, tea, and the art world. I’m also a published short fiction and poetry writer, an amateur photographer, and a burgeoning wine snob.
This entry was posted in daily blog. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 07/09 – Moved in!

  1. Looks like you’ve been busy! I ALWAYS put my eggs in the fridge, I hate them being left out, I just don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

