I’m Twenty! Thoughts on Two Decades of Life

Phew. Two decades of life, who would have thought? Time is passing by quickly, by all estimates I’m around 1/4 of the way through my life expectancy. When I’ve talked to other people my age about this many of them have expressed surprise and dismay that they haven’t done enough with their “best” years. I’m happy to report I haven’t had that kind of crisis just yet.

collage

For me, in two decades I’ve been able to accomplish a lot. My high school years gave me me several writing awards, my college gave me an amazing internship, my travel gave me memories and my blog brought me friends from all over. My family made me loving, my friends made me laugh, my foes gave me an excellent vocabulary of swear words.

So, being twenty is something different to everybody. For me it’s straddling childhood and adulthood, it’s knowing that who I am now is fluid and evanescent and that every word I read or hear spoken could change my point of view. I guess that’s why I’ve been tearing through my bookshelves lately, trying to figure out who I’ll be tomorrow.

Growing older everything becomes more complicated, but you also grow more equipped to deal with that complicated web. History is the best tool in my belt for this, but with that comes a good tempering of my own moral and ethical code. It’s served me well so far, and I hope it will continue to do so. And, if not, it’s not too late to ditch the lot and come up with something entirely new. It’s never too late for that.

I’m always grateful for the people who have made me who I am today, but on birthdays it becomes extremely poignant. There were times when I was younger that being an adult seemed so far away and impossible to reach, but I made it with more than a bit of help.

So, for the next decade I’m hoping for more travel, more learning, more friends, and more challenges to overcome. I would like to travel more (France, Germany, Egypt, Japan, Nigeria, and India are high on my list.) I would like to go to graduate school, though where I’m not sure. I would like to become more fluent in French and start learning German. I would like to set out on my own, but stay in contact with my friends and family. I’d like to finally be able to spell Neuschwanstein correctly on my first try.

Maybe in time.

And with that, happy birthday to me, and here’s to another year.

Post Signature

About Mary Rose

A student blogger with a passion for travel, tea, and the art world. I’m also a published short fiction and poetry writer, an amateur photographer, and a burgeoning wine snob.
This entry was posted in Pre-Departure and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

